summer lovin’

I so love summer. It makes me want to frolic on the beach in sundresses during the day and sip cocktails on the patio with P and Sebastian in the evening. Here are some things on my summer to-do (and wish) list…

 First I want to make this yummy key lime cake –

Step 1: Prepare three round 9″ pans by lining the bottoms of each with 9″ circles of wax paper.

Step 2: Grease the wax paper with Pam and then sprinkle with flour.

Step 3: Mix the cake mix, lime jello, oil, eggs, orange juice and water together for 2 to 3 minutes at medium speed.

Step 4: Pour an equal amount of the batter into each of the three lined cake pans.

Step 5: Bake at 350 degrees for 25 minutes.

For the glaze-

Step 6: While the cakes are baking, knead two key limes against a hard surface to loosen the juice inside of them.

Step 7: Cut each of the key limes in half.

Step 8: Squeeze 1/4 cup of fresh key lime juice into a small bowl.

Step 9: Pour 1/4 cup of bottled lime juice into the bowl of fresh lime juice.

Step 10: Mix in 4 tbsp. of confectioners sugar.

When the cakes come of out the oven, and while they’re still warm, use a spoon to drizzle the glaze mixture onto the entire surface of each of them.

For the icing-

Step 11: Mix the margarine and cream cheese together.

Step 12: Mix in the remainder of the box of confectioners sugar.

Step 13: Add the vanilla, and mix until it’s smooth.

Step 14: Remove the first cake from its pan, discard the waxpaper on the bottom of it, and spread a layer of icing on the top of it.

Step 15: Remove and stack the second (wax paperless) cake on top of the first one, and spread a layer of icing on the top of it.

Step 16: Remove and stack the third (wax paperless) cake on top of the second one, and spread a layer of icing on the top of it. Use the remaining icing to cover the sides of the cake.

Then, eat and enjoy the deliciousness!

I would serve the key lime goodness with this fresh summer lemonade –

Strawberry Basil Lemonade:

2 parts Bacardi Dragonberry Rum
1 part lemon juice
1 part simple syrup (I used sweet lime juice instead)
3 basil leaves
3 strawberries (hulled and chopped)
2 parts Sprite (the recipe didn’t say how much to use but I did two parts)

Muddle two basil leaves and two strawberries, then add those to the fresh lemon juice, simple syrup and Bacardi rum in a shaker with a bunch of ice. Add the Sprite and you’re done:

strawberry basil lemomade

As for the wish part of my summer list, here it is. If I had a little bittle near by, which I so wish I did (I still have hope one of my older siblings will produce more perfect offspring and then spontaneously decide to move to San Diego) I would be fashionably hiking with the little bean as such…

How darn cute would Ari girl look in there? Source

My goal this summer is to get good at golf. Not unrealistically good, just good enough where I can play 18 holes, not get frustrated and  actually keep score. Embarrassing that I’m not even good enough to keep score, I know. I played on a course for my first time this past weekend (we went on Sat & Sun) and I had so much fun with my Preston J!

I’m also planning on creating some fun, DIY Patio Furniture. We have a table out there, but it just isn’t fun enough for me (it is our glass dining table that was in our kitchen eating area in our Las Vegas house, if you were wondering). I think we need something bright and energetic to go with our fabulous view, maybe something along these lines…

Source

After receiving a note in the mail yesterday from my sweetheart of a friend Alex, I have decided this summer I will also be writing more letters. I love getting things in the mail and know others do, too! Preston happens to be one of these people, so feel free to send a heartfelt note to our mailbox to him so he doesn’t get jealous of all the pen pal letters in my future. 🙂 Here is my first, of many, letters to be sent to friends and family.

My last summer to-do item is to camp. On our patio. I picture candles, smores, waking up to the beach and sleeping in something similar to this

Happy summer, sweet friends!

 

2 Comments

Filed under Carlsbad, CA, Goodies, Life, Travel

2 responses to “summer lovin’

  1. Hey thanks for blogging about Kev’s Mom’s Key Lime Cake recipe!
    You will LOVE it!!!
    😀

Leave a Reply

