diy pinata

My dear love, Pinterest, gave me the inspiration for a DIY pinata. Then, the cute couple at YHL made one and I decided I had to jump on this bandwagon. With my nephew’s, Remington, 5th birthday right around the corner I decided that this was the perfect time to test out the fun. It didn’t turn out perfect, but with five nephews and a neice, and many more birthdays ahead of us, I have plenty of time to get better. I started with these supplies…

You will need newspaper, tissue paper, flour, water and a balloon. I ended up using a  normal balloon because I couldn’t find a pull string balloon anywhere! And by anywhere, I mean Target or Wal-Mart, which are the two places I figured would absolutely have them! That was my biggest mistake. Next time I will absolutely search long and hard to make sure I have one! After blowing up the balloon, I began to cut my newspaper (which is really just all of the JoAnns ads I save because we don’t get the newspaper.) As you can see below, I did 3-4 inch strips, which was no bueno. I recommend doing at least six inch strips of paper.

And then I mixed the flour and water (2 parts water to 1 part flour) to make the paper mache.

Next, I channelled my first grade self and got to work paper-maching that balloon! I let it dry overnight, then had to mache a little extra, let it sit and then used a blow dryer to (what I thought was) finish ‘er off.

Next, I popped the balloon and was getting ready to place the final string on the pinata when I noticed a little crack on the back.  Upon picking up the hard, hollow ball of Joann Ads, (aka my pinata) I realized that the little crack had turned into a large crack. I highly recommend extra layers of mache and extra days of drying, my friends! Fortunately, I had some wire and duct tape that I used to awkwardly patch up the situation. I have no idea what this is going to look like when Remy tries to crack his personal pinata, but hey, I did what I could when faced with pinata disaster. After your hopefully non-craked and round (rather than egg-shaped) pinata is ready to go, you cut an opening in the bottom to add all of your goodies. Because this is a personal pinata, I limited the candy (somewhat) and added water balloons and cash.

Next, I cut out circles of tissue paper and layered them one upon another to create a final product that looks as such…

If you are hoping for a better tutorial, with a much cuter finished project, go here. I am so looking forward to making more of these in the future, they are cheap, fun and relatively fast (in actual crafting time, not waiting.) I will keep you posted as to Remy’s opinion on it – until then, I am wishing the pinata good luck and safe travels on the trek from San Diego to Seattle!

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Life, Projects

Leave a Reply

